American History & Genealogy

Virginia County Selection Table

On our County Selection Table you will note the links to the County Seat.  These are connected to our online book Statistical Gazetteer of the United States.  These links will take you to the description of the town or city in 1843.  If you are interested in adopting one of our counties, please EMAIL us.  Thanks!!

County County Seat Established Origin Coordinator
Accomack County Accomac 1663 One of the eight original shires of Virginia. Available for Adoption
Albemarle County Charlottesville 1744 Goochland County.  
Alleghany County Covington 1822 Bath & Botetourt VA Counties, & Monroe County, WV Available for Adoption
Amelia County Amelia Court House 1735 Brunswick & Prince George Counties.  
Amherst County Amherst 1761 Albemarle County.  
Appomattox County Appomattox 1845 Buckingham, Campbell, Charlotte & Prince Edward Counties  
Arlington County Arlington 1846 Annexed from Washington, DC  
Augusta County Staunton 1745 Orange County  
Bedford County Bedford 1754 Lunenburg County Thomas A. Markham
Bland County Bland 1861 Giles, Tazewell, & Wythe Counties.  
Botetourt County Fincastle 1770 Augusta County.  
Brunswick County Lawrenceville 1720 Prince George County  
Buchanan County Grundy 1858 Russell and Tazewell Counties  
Buckingham County Buckingham 1761 Albemarle County  
Campbell County Rustburg 1782 Bedford County  
Caroline County Bowling Green 1728 Essex, King & Queen, & King William Co's.  
Carroll County Hillsville 1842 Grayson County.  
Charles City County Charles City 1634 Original Borough  
Charlotte County Charlotte Court House 1765 Lunenburg County.  
Chesterfield County Chesterfield 1749 Henrico County  
Clarke County Berryville 1836 Frederick County  
Craig County New Castle 1851 Botetourt, Roanoke, Giles, VA & present day Monroe County, WV  
Culpeper County Culpeper 1748 Orange County.  
Cumberland County Cumberland 1749 Goochland County  
Dickenson County Clintwood 1880 Buchanan, Russell, & Wise Counties  
Dinwiddie County Dinwiddie 1752 Prince George County  
Essex County Tappahannock 1692 Rappahannock County.  
Fairfax County Fairfax 1742 Prince William County  
Fauquier County Warrenton 1759 Prince William County  
Floyd County Floyd 1831 Montgomery County  
Fluvanna County Palmyra 1777 Henrico County  
Franklin County Rocky Mount 1785 Bedford & Henry Counties  
Frederick County Winchester 1743 Orange County  
Giles County Pearisburg 1806 Montgomery, Monroe, Wythe, & Tazewell Counties  
Gloucester County Gloucester Courthouse 1651 Original County  
Goochland County Goochland 1727 Henrico Shire  
Grayson County Independence 1793 Wythe County  
Greene County Stanardsville 1838 Orange County  
Greensville County Emporia 1780 Brunswick County  
Halifax County Halifax 1752 Lunenburg County  
Hanover County     Hanover Courthouse 1720 New Kent County Available for Adoption
Henrico County Henrico 1617 Original County.  
Henry County Martinsville 1777 Pittsylvania County  
Highland County Monterey 1847 Bath and Pendleton Counties.  
Isle of Wight County     Isle of Wight 1634 Renamed from Warrosquyoake Shire, one of the original eight Paula Franklin
James City County Williamsburg 1617 Original County. Eve Gregory
King and Queen County King & Queen Court House 1691 New Kent County.  
King George County King George 1721 Richmond County  
King William County King William 1702 King & Queen County.  
Lancaster County Lancaster 1651 Northumberland & York Counties.  
Lee County Jonesville 1793 Russell County  
Loudoun County Leesburg 1757 Fairfax County  
Louisa County Louisa 1742 Hanover County  
Lunenburg County Lunenburg 1746 Brunswick County  
Madison County Madison 1793 Culpeper County  
Mathews County Mathews 1791 Gloucester County.  
Mecklenburg County Boydton 1765 Lunenburg County  
Middlesex County Saluda 1673 Lancaster County  
Montgomery County Christiansburg 1777 Fincastle County  
Nelson County Lovingston 1808 Amherst County  
New Kent County New Kent 1654 York County.  
Northampton County Eastville 1634 Accomac Shire, one of the original eight shires  
Northumberland County Heathsville 1648 Created by the Virginia General Assembly.  
Nottoway County Nottoway 1789 Amelia County  
Orange County Orange 1734 Spotsylvania County.  
Page County Luray 1831 Shenandoah & Rockingham Counties Lainee Denton
Patrick County Stuart 1791 Patrick Henry County  
Pittsylvania County Chatham 1767 Halifax County  
Powhatan County Powhatan 1777 Cumberland County  
Prince Edward County Farmville 1754 Amelia County  
Prince George County Prince George 1703 Charles City County Eve Gregory
Prince William County Manassas 1731 Stafford & King George Counties  
Pulaski County Pulaski 1839 Montgomery & Wythe Counties  
Rappahannock County Washington 1833 Culpeper County.  
Richmond County Warsaw 1692 Rappahannock County  
Roanoke County Salem 1838 Botetourt County  
Rockbridge County Lexington 1778 Augusta & Botetourt Counties  
Rockingham County Harrisonburg 1778 Page County  
Russell County Lebanon 1786 Washington County  
Scott County Gate City 1814 Washington, Lee, & Russell Counties  
Shenandoah County Woodstock 1772 Originally named Dunmore County  
Smyth County Marion 1832 Washington & Wythe Counties  
Southampton County Courtland 1749 Isle of Wight & Nansemond Counties  
Spotsylvania County Spotsylvania Courthouse 1721 Essex, King & Queen, & King William Co's.  
Stafford County Stafford 1664 Westmoreland County  
Surry County Surry 1652 James City County Paula Franklin
Sussex County     Sussex 1754 Surry County Available for Adoption
Tazewell County Tazewell 1800 Wythe & Russell Counties  
Warren County Front Royal 1836 Frederick & Shenandoah Counties  
Washington County Abingdon 1777 Fincastle County  
Westmoreland County Montross 1653 Northumberland County  
Wise County Wise 1856 Lee, Scott, & Russell Counties  
Wythe County Wytheville 1790 Montgomery County  
York County Yorktown 1634 Charles River Shire, one of the eight original shires.Eve Gregory

Enjoy the work of our webmasters, provide a link, please do not copy their work

This page was last updated Thursday, 08-Aug-2019 07:53:02 EDT.
Copyright © 2011~2024 by Virginia AHGP